Go Back   MajorWager Forums > MW - Online Sportsbooks > Mess Hall
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Mess Hall Online Sportsbook Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-10-2008, 11:15 PM
Uncle B Uncle B is offline
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: denial
Posts: 48,018
Default Moss and Tomlinson unanimous picks for AP All-Pro team

Moss was joined on the squad by the other end of his record-setting tandem, quarterback Tom Brady but, inexplicably, the passer who put together one of, if not the greatest season for a quarterback in the league's history was not a unanimous selection. One writer chose to split his vote between Brady, who threw a record 50 touchdown passes this season and earned both the Most Valuable Player and Offensive Player of the Year honors, and Green Bay quarterback Brett Favre.

Tomlinson was joined in the backfield by Chargers teammate fullback Lorenzo Neal, and Philadelphia Eagles running back Brian Westbrook. Cowboys tight end Jason Witten and wide receiver Terrell Owens filled out the offensive skill positions.

The unbeaten Pats led the league with five on the All-Pro team, as tackle Matt Light, cornerback Asante Samuel, and outside linebacker Mike Vrabel also made the squad. Moss is a four-time All-Pro, the rest are on the team for the first time.

Chargers cornerback Antonio Cromartie, who led the league with 10 interceptions, gave San Diego three players on the team. Also with three All- Pro members were the Cowboys, who also had linebacker DeMarcus Ware, and the Seattle Seahawks, who had tackle Walter Jones, defensive end Patrick Kerney, and linebacker Lofa Tatupu. All told, 15 AFC players made the team, compared to 12 NFC players.

Filling out the offensive line were Minnesota guard Steve Hutchinson, Pittsburgh guard Alan Faneca, and Indianapolis center Jeff Saturday.

Kansas City Chiefs defensive end Jared Allen's 15 1/2-sack performance this season led the NFL, and earned him All-Pro honors. He was joined on the defensive line by Minnesota tackle Kevin Williams and Tennessee tackle Albert Haynesworth.

San Francisco inside linebacker Patrick Willis was the only rookie selected to the team. Indianapolis safety Bob Sanders, the Defensive Player of the Year, and Baltimore safety Ed Reed filled out the defensive side of the ball.

Tennessee kicker Rob Bironas and 49ers punter Andy Lee earned special teams slots. Kick returner Devin Hester made the team for the second time in his two seasons in the NFL.
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
458 TOMLINSON jag Mess Hall 2 05-05-2007 05:01 PM
It's official...Ripken/Gwynn not unanimous HoFers gradysfalcon Mess Hall 0 01-08-2007 10:05 PM
Illinois still No. 1, but not unanimous Louis Cypher Mess Hall 2 03-08-2005 04:08 AM
Santana unanimous for AL Cy Young Award Louis Cypher Mess Hall 2 11-11-2004 07:16 PM
tomlinson numbers hatbox The Race Track 23 07-09-2002 02:11 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:54 PM.

Please be advised that if you are wagering over the internet, this is illegal in many jurisdictions. A wagering site may be operating legally at their location but it may still be illegal for you to wager from your location. We suggest you check on the legal situation from any jurisdiction in which you may wager.

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC6